PRE-ORDER LINK (digital and physical)

Eyesore & The Jinx have announced ‘The Exile Parlour EP’ will be released digitally on 24th July via Eggy Records. It will also be released on 10” grey vinyl shortly after. This will be the first vinyl release for both the band and Eggy Records.

 2020 initially started with a bang, playing with the Jesus & The Mary Chain and Fontaines DC in a Butlin’s in Bognor Regis, followed by a flying visit to Eurosonic to perform in a big school and have a chat with Abbie McCarthy for Radio One. On top of that they supported U-Bahn at YES in Manchester and then released a new single ahead of what would’ve been a real fistful of gigs including Liverpool and London headliners, The Great Escape, Live at Leeds and Soundcity, amongst others.

Previous single ‘Leisure Time’ earned Eyesore multiple BBC 6Music plays, Spotify and Apple Music playlist adds and transatlantic support from Stereogum, Paste and KEXP (Song of The Day). ‘Nightlife’ is the second single to be released from the forthcoming EP. This one got off to a slower start after its release due to the obvious, but momentum has started to gather with the release of a brilliant video by Broken Down Golf Cart, featuring the band immortalised in modelling clay. The video was premiered on a recent Saturday night, providing a ridiculously short ‘Disco in Furlough’. Support around the track without promotion has included playlisting on Amazing Radio and Steve Lamacq ending his BBC 6Music Recommends show with the track last week.

‘Nightlife’ video by Broken Down Golf Cart:

The singles before this EP saw them commenting on social media isolationism and an overall doomed feeling in society due to the current political landscape. There was never a plan to be a ‘political band’, it’s purely the result of writing about what they see and feel in their lived experience.

This Exile Parlour EP, including  two un-released tracks, marks a new phase for the band. A very different tempo, a different groove, a different approach – sharpened in the studio with producer Daniel Fox, also known as the bassist from Dublin’s much loved Girl Band. Eyesore & The Jinx now have a proven track recorded of creating absolutely dreadful characters that live at the heart of each of their tracks. They reflect modern life in Britain without the need to preach political views. This EP sees Eyesore & The Jinx go that step further and build a rather dark world for these fictional characters.

Josh Miller (bassist and singer) of the band says about the EP:

‘The EP consists of four songs, each from the perspective of four equally uninhibited characters whose various disclosures unfold in front of the ever shifting backdrop of ‘The Exile Parlour’. A fictional space, where the private seeps seamlessly into the public, and pleasures are pursued unflinchingly.’ 

Eyesore & The Jinx are part of an exciting group of bands and artists that make up the cohort of Merseyside taste-makers Eggy Records. The label acts as a co-operative, a supportive group of creatives and misfits who have built something very special, recently profiled by the NME. There seems to be a spotlight on what is happening with this group of artists, with Eggy being selected to host a showcase at 2019’s BBC 6Music Festival, of which Eyesore & The Jinx headlined, not to mention last Summer’s trip to Russia to play two festivals as part of the UK Russia Year of Music with label mate newbies STORES. Their first international trip as a band was certainly a memorable one.

Their sphere of influence quickly expanded out of their home region. They have received extensive national radio support, including a 6Music Roundtable win for ‘On An Island’ produced by Jonathan Hartley from iconic Liverpool psych-surgeons Clinic. Third single ‘Swill’ was the first track they recorded with Daniel Fox alongside Matt Freeman at Fresh Goods Studio, Birkenhead. This relationship worked very well and the band headed back in soon after to record this EP, funded by a special PRS Foundation Momentum fund in conjunction with Liverpool City Council. The artwork is by long-time collaborator Mat Greaves.

Josh Miller – vocals, bass

Liam Bates – guitar

Eoghan Robinson – drums